No, my mind is not evil. And I like living here.

Facebook posts seem to provide plenty of fodder for discussion on belief. It’s quite often in fact that a status or quote elicits a response in me, but more often than not I don’t comment. I can never think of a reply succinct or witty enough to make my point without causing offense or taking up the whole page.

However,  in the past week or so two things have irritated me so much that I have to write something! I’ll write it here instead to get it off my chest I suppose, but also perhaps to prompt some thought in anyone reading. The first is a quote, and the second is a comment made by someone in response to a discussion about optimism vs pessimism.

Before the quote, I must mention that I haven’t read the quote in context, and I don’t know if it is true to it’s original intent when read in isolation. However, it sums up a widely held position in the church today, so regardless of what J G Lake intended it to mean, it’s literal meaning is one commonly held and is what I’d like to comment on.

“When a Christian tries to live by reason he is moving out of God’s country into the enemy’s land. We belong in the miraculous and the supernatural realm.”~ J G Lake

It goes without saying that there followed a number of ‘likes’ and  hearty comments of agreement. My favourite was a tongue in cheek dig from my friend: “sounds reasonable”.

I would like to know by what means the writer, the quoter and the ‘likers’ came to the conslusion that reason is the enemy’s land? Surely it was by reason that they reasoned it?? Surely it was reason itself which enabled them to become literate and educated (terms used loosely)? Is there not some inconsistency here? If reason is of the enemy, and reason was the means of them discovering this, then it follows that their conclusion is not to be trusted. A conundrum yes?

The problem I have with all of this is that this view of things undermines God given intellect. This kind of belief excuses all sorts of ridiculous behaviour, phenomena and outright stupidity, by which people can defer to ‘the Spiritual realm’ and not have to hold themselves to any sensible thought about it’s validity. God has revealed Himself to us through Jesus Christ..has made Himself knowable. He has shown Himself through creation which mankind has studied and continues to discover. The fact that God has made Himself knowable, means that He can be revealed to our minds.

I’m not saying there is no supernatural realm, no place for faith or mystery. What I have a problem with is the idea that the supernatural is right, the mind is wrong. I am a whole person. All of me is wonderfully made, and there is no part of me that God hasn’t included into Himself in Christ. His work is complete and perfect and wonderful. I love that He has given me a mind. I love discovering Him with it! I love learning and reasoning and understanding.

And the second:

“An optimist operates from the spirit realm, he sees in faith; a pessimist operates from the soul realm, he lives in the natural and is not a partner with the Spirit!”

Yes. I proudly live in natural realm. I was born here. It is the home God has created for me. It’s a beautiful creation, nature delights me and I don’t want to live anywhere else to be quite honest. I also quite like the soul God gave me. Our bodies are incredible and it’s ability to adapt and heal fascinates me. I love the raw messy humanity of it…I love the great leveller of the fact that every person on earth uses their bowels and has to clean their ears out once in a while.  I’m so tired of hearing that the spiritual is better, and the natural is embarrassing and a necessary but temporary evil. The natural realm is perfectly natural! It’s our habitat! He created it for us! What the heck is wrong with it???

Why this constant separation, this cutting me down the middle? Why this constant defining of good and bad?

 

 

7 thoughts on “No, my mind is not evil. And I like living here.

  1. dc says:

    Reason is itself a matter of faith. It is an act of faith to assert that our thoughts have any relation to reality at all.

    —G K Chesterton, Orthodoxy, Chapter III: The Suicide of Thought, 1909

    ============================

    “Come now, let us reason together,” says the LORD. “Though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red as crimson, they shall be like wool. Isaiah 1:8 (notice you hear the second part of this verse a lot more than the first)

    ============================

  2. Gosh, I’m loving everything you’re posting on here. So much of what you’re saying, about God being a God of reason, about the dissonance of God being a vengeful God who must be appeased yet Jesus being a lover of sinners, about looking back questioning things that you used to believe whole-heartedly–this is right where I’ve been the last few years too. Good stuff. Thanks for writing, and I look forward to reading more.

    • Thinky Think says:

      Thanks Jen. This is just where I process out loud…and I’m a complete theological novice. I write when the mood grabs me, not that often…but in future posts, I’ll try to remember to link to some of the sources that have sparked these thoughts. Thanks for reading…..and commenting…it’s always nice to have some discussion or feedback going on.

  3. Phil says:

    I’d love to spout indignantly but, fortunately for all concerned, I just finished a 12 hour night shift and my spout’o’tron’s batteries are flat. *gasps of relief* A borrowed quote will have to do:

    ……..theology is spirituality in articulate expression, while spirituality is theology on its knees—and, of course, on its feet too! When theology is “thin,” it is often because it is not steeped in prayer; and when spirituality is “lite,” it is usually because it is theologically vacuous.

    KIM FABRICIUS

Leave a Reply

